This past year has presented challenges to musicians across the board, particularly in the way of live music. We’re doing our best to help by offering a platform for composers to have their works performed in concert.

With that, PARMA is thrilled to announce the composer selected for our first category in the Fall 2020 Call for Scores. The winner receives placement of their submitted piece in a live concert performance by the Subotica Philharmonic Strings.

And the results are…


Dafydd Bullock

Dafydd Bullock: Suite for String Orchestra


Gary Belshaw: Elegy
Sheli Nan: Backlash!
Alejandro Rutty: Waking Up Down at the Bottom of the Sea

PARMA began work with the Subotica Philharmonic Orchestra, Serbia’s oldest orchestra, in 2019 with the orchestra’s reestablishment. In the Fall 2020 Call for Scores, PARMA offered the chance for one select work to be performed in concert by the Subotica Philharmonic Strings at no cost to the composer. We are happy to offer this opportunity to composer Dafydd Bullock.

We will announce the date and details of the concert in the coming months—stay tuned.

Congratulations to Dafydd, Gary, Sheli, Alejandro, and all who submitted their music!